question about final fantasy xi

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• question about final fantasy xi

my roommate already has ffxi for the playstation. i'm planning on getting it for my computer so we can play at the same time. i know there's some kind of deal where you pay $1/month to make an extra character on the ps2 version, but is there anyway to take advantage of that if i go cross-platform?

paying 2 full subscription fees for the same household would be utter crap.
    plopp> im not a newbie ok!! im a butterfly waiting to come out of his coon!

Hmm... I think you have to pay for your own account. The problem is that your characters are tied to your account. The $1 character is for creating another character under the same PlayOnline account. You can create one of those $1 characters from you in your friend's account, but each account can only log-on to play one character at a time. What this means is that if you want to be able to play at the same time, you each have to pay for an account, just like all other MMORPGs.

It may sound like crap, but I think it's necessary. You see, you can log in on any computer or PS2 with FFXI installed and play a character you created on your computer. So if you were at your friend's house in another town and want to show him what level your character is at, you can log in at his house. That means that if they did allow you to play an "extra" $1 character with your friend in the other room on the same connection, their game servers would be unable to differentiate that from you paying $1 for an extra character and letting your friend in the other town play as that character while you play your own. Either way, you're only playing the monthy fee plus an extra buck, but you can see how they don't want you to be able to buy an extra character for a buck and just give it to someone else. I'm not sure if you get what I mean because it's a bit confusing.

Comment