Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sequoia and Kings Canyon, CA

Hi,

I have some questions about Sequoia (SNP) and Kings Canyon (KC) national parks, where my gf and I would like to go to during the summer. Hopefully someone can provide me with some 'real life experience', because I'm getting a bit overwhelmed by the hundreds of websites which all say different things.

We want to stay in SNP and KC for four nights. We have already reserved two nights in KC's lodge called Cedar Grove. These days we're gonna hike and all that good stuff.

After these two nights, we would like to move downwards to Sequoia, since the end destination is Los Angeles. Can anyone recommend a good hotel in Sequoia? And some activities/ "must see" parts?
    Any advice would be great in this subject. I'm leaning towards staying as close as possible to Mineral Kings.

Also, I'dd love to go white water rafting. I've never done this before and the closest non-hardcore river in the neighbourhood is Merced River. But this is also classified as a class 3 / 4. Is this class way to advanced for a beginner? Or are the warnings overrated, and mainly to scare of the fat and old people?

Thanks in advance

So, I grew up in Fresno, which is just a couple hours from both parks. I've been to both several times, though really only Kings Canyon as an adult. I've only day-tripped or camped out of thriftiness/poorness, so I can't comment on lodges except for their location and maybe exterior.

Kings Canyon:
    That's a good spot to stay, down in the canyon. Make sure to stop at Grant Grove on your way in or out. The road that goes by Hume Lake is probably not worth taking, because it's slow. Stop at Roaring River Falls and Zumwalt Meadow, they only take a few minutes. In the Cedar Grove area, I highly recommend the Mist Falls trail.

Sequoia: