Tips for Total NOOBS in ?go base

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Tips for Total NOOBS in ?go base

Ok, I just had a very disappointing day in ?go base yesterday. So here comes the guide to basing games in the spirit of noobs helping noobs. Feel free to add/subtract. Yes, some of this can be found elsewhere. Yes, this is only my opinion. Your mileage may vary. Yadda yadda.

Getting in a game- Don't spam. If you're in ?go base, you want to play. We all know that. Message matchbot ":matchbot:!help" for commands to see the score, who the captains are, etc. "?time" to see how much time is left. Don't whine. Not everyone gets to play. Yes, it's not fair. If you're disappointed, keep it to yourself and you won't hurt your chances of getting in next time.

cap- Learn the commands first. Don't cap and terr unless you have done it before. Make sure you have 8 on your team. The three most common lineups are Euro Style (1 Terr, 2 Sharks, 1 Jav, 4 Spiders), Western World Style (1 Terr, 2 Sharks, 2 Javs, 3 Spiders), and Pallies Style (1 Terr, 2 Sharks, 1 jav, 3 spiders, 1 warbird).

terr- The most important ship, do not terr if you don't know what you're doing. Use your bursts- there's no point holding on to them. Watch how other terrs use their bursts. Know where your team needs to be. Sharks are especially slow- if you can get the shark closer to where it needs to be, it will help a lot. You can also help in making the spider lines even. You can be aggressive if you have a portal, but STAY ALIVE. Relax, don't panic.

shark- Your job is to repel and eat bullets. Don't mine the entrance on the way in to the flag room- the nme shark will repel your mines and kill your team. Don't mine anywhere where the mines can be used against you. Sharks are mostly for defense but there are occasions to attack and rushing the terr. Anticipate javs and wbs. Get the flag. Protect your terr.