Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• building a pc

Hi.

So I'm an aerospace engineering student and you guessed it, my laptop really doesn't cut it for most engineering applications (SolidWorks, Fluent, intensive MATLAB code, etc). So this summer I decided to build my own PC. Basically, what I have in mind is something that can handle graphics pretty smoothly and be able to do a shitload of calculations. 3D-rendering is a plus but I'm not doing video-editing per se, just a shitload of calculating and some 3D modeling.

Of course I want to do it as cheaply as possible, but I need some of the best bang-for-the-buck recommendations for the following:

dual-core processor (athlon or duo-core?)
    4GB ram
    motherboard (no clue here)
    graphics card (again no clue)

Then add on the case, cooling stuff, power supply, hard drive but I think I can figure out most of that stuff myself after I get the above hardware determined. The monitor I was thinking a 19" Hanns G or something like that from Best Buy with a gift card I got for my birthday. Or should I upgrade to a 22" (worth it?).

Since the monitor isn't "really" included, I'd like to build the tower for around $700. Realistic?

Also: XP would be the ideal choice over Vista, since it consumes less memory.
    Last edited by Fit of Rage; 06-21-2008, 08:49 PM.
    5:royst> i was junior athlete of the year in my school! then i got a girlfriend
    5:the_paul> calculus is not a girlfriend
    5:royst> i wish it was calculus

1:royst> did you all gangbang my gf or something

1:fermata> why dont you get money fuck bitches instead

So I just went to Dell online and came up with this for $703 (+tax, S&H):

My Components
    Intel® Pentium® Conroe Dual Core Processor E2200 (1MB, 2.2GHz)
    Genuine Windows Vista® Home Basic Service Pack 1
    No Monitor
    4GB Dual Channel DDR2 SDRAM at 800MHz- 4DIMMs
    250GB Serial ATA Hard Drive (7200RPM) w/DataBurst Cache™
    16X DVD+/-RW Drive